Learning Programs

The College curriculum is tailored to meet the specific learning needs and environment at Mercy College.  Curriculum strategies and programs draw on the curriculum advice and guidelines of the Victorian Curriculum Assessment Authority (VCAA).  Curriculum for students in Years 7 to 10 is based on the Victorian Curriculum and students in Years 11 and 12 undertake the Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE) or VCAL, as well as Vocational Education and Training (VET) studies.

Learning Areas:

  • Religious Education
  • English
  •  Mathematics
  •  Science
  • Humanities
  • Health and Physical Education
  •  The Arts and Technology
  •  Languages
  • Interpersonal Development
  • Personal Learning
  • Civics and Citizenship


  • Critical and Creative Thinking
  • Ethical Capability
  •  Intercultural Capability
  •  Personal and Social Capability


The College curriculum is broadly structured into two categories, compulsory and post compulsory studies.  The academic year is divided into two semesters and four terms.  Students undertake some subjects for a full year and others for a single semester.

Students in Years 7 and 8 undertake a prescribed course of study including each of the disciplinary based learning. During Years 9 and 10 students continue with a prescribed course and also select a number of Middle School Electives that are of single semester duration.

During the post compulsory years of schooling, Years 11 and 12, students choose a course of study from the diverse range of VCE, VCAL and VET subjects on offer.  These studies are usually undertaken as a sequence of units across a two year period.

Important in the timetabled learning schedule of all students is the pastoral program and Religious Education curriculum.  All students undertake Religious Education studies throughout their education at Mercy and participate in a range of whole school celebrations.  The common time period brings the College community together to celebrate and communicate important events in College life.

Years 7 and 8 students also participate in a pastoral period that enables them to explore important developmental, pastoral care and student wellbeing issues.

Please select a tab for more information on each year level:

Information displayed below

Information displayed below

Information displayed below